Zach Principal Honored as Outstanding School Leader

U.S. Secretary of Education announced the 2018 recipients of the Terrel H. Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership. The 11 principals from the 2018 cohort of National Blue Ribbon Schools will be honored during the National Blue Ribbon Schools awards ceremony on Wednesday, Nov. 7 in Washington, D.C.

Named for the second U. S. Secretary of Education, the Bell Award honors school leaders who are committed to education and improving outcomes for all students. The award is part of the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program. Principals are nominated by their school communities during the final stages of the National Blue Ribbon Schools application process.
The 2018 recipients are:

CO – Fort Collins – Zach Elementary School, Aisha Thomas.
FL – Jacksonville – Stanton College Preparatory School, Nongongoma Majova-Seane.
FL – Miami – Archimedean, Upper Conservatory, Demetrios Demopoulos.
MI – Spring Lake – Lake Hills Elementary School, Jason Lawson.
NY – Fresh Meadows – MS 216 George J. Ryan School, Reginald Landeau Jr.
OH – Cincinnati – John Foster Dulles Elementary School, Elizabeth Riesenberger.
PA – West Chester – Saints Peter and Paul School, Margaret Egan.
SC – Taylors – Tigerville Elementary School, Diane Jackson.
TX – El Paso – Northwest Early College High School, Tracey Speaker-Gerstheimer.
TX – Rosenberg – A.W. Jackson Elementary School, Deana Gonzalez.

Special Lifetime of Leadership Awardee:

LA – New Orleans – Lusher Charter School, Kathy Hurstell Riedlinger, CEO.     

Brief summaries of each recipient’s work are also available at 
The U.S. Department of Education, together with the National Association of Elementary School Principals, the Association for Middle Level Education, and the National Association of Secondary School Principals, present the Bell Awards.